SAMAs: Delazy takes the lead

By Rethabile Matlala    03-May-2013 10:19 UTC+02:00

Sama19As we all wait patiently for the 19th MTN South African Music Awards (SAMAs) which take place next Saturday at Sun City, it has been announced that Toya Delazy is on the drive seat, with all 6 nominations but will she take all six awards with her home?

Toya is the “Pump It Up” hitmaker from KZN, and is making waves locally and internationally, she has been nominated for record, newcomer and best album of the year. IFP leader Mangosuthu Buthelezi is the grandfather of Delazy, at least he will have something to brag about besides politics.

Toya Delazy is competing with the likes of Oskido, Liquideep, MiCasa and Teargas in contention for record of the year, but the young lady has been pumping good music, if the crowd loves it, then they’ll dance to it and they’ve been dancing to it.

Another newcomer to look out for is ChianoSky, who also leads with six nominations for her Hungry album and other nominees are Elvis Blue, The Muffinz, Khuli Chana, HHP, Kelly Khumalo and Khaya Mthethwa (Idols 2012 winner). It has been revealed that there will be 120 individual performers on Saturday night.

The line-up (in no particular order) includes multiple MTN SAMA nominees and Lifetime Achievement Award recipients including Donald, Dr Thomas Chauke, Zozo, Sangre Superbeat, Toya Delazy, Kabomo, Zonke, ChianoSky, DJ Zinhle, Reason, Proverb, Desmond and the Tutus, The Muffinz, Lira, Vetkuk & Mahoota.

Leave a comment