Kaizer Chiefs Crowned PSL Champions for the First Time in 8 Years

By Thandi    16-May-2013 10:26 UTC+02:00 1

Kaizer Chiefs claimed the league title for the first time in 8 long years after playing to a 1-1 draw with Supersport United on Wednesday night at Peter Mokaba Stadium. Both goals of the match came in the second half. Chiefs’ goal was scored by Lehlohonolo Majoro in the 49th minute and that of SuperSport was scored by Sibusiso Zuma in the 88th minute.

Although before the match it was already obvious that Chiefs had won the league title this season, they still needed one point to officially seal the deal. Earning one point in yesterday’s match took them to 57 points, making it mathematically impossible for any team to catch up with them. With only one game remaining for all teams, Platinum Stars (53 points), who are at the second position in the log, can no longer close the 4-point gap between them and Chiefs even if they score a thousand goals in their last game.

This is Chiefs’ third league title. The teams which have won most league titles are: Mamelodi Sundowns, who have won it 5 times, Orlando Pirates (4 times) and Supersport United (3 times). Chiefs last won the league twice consecutively in the 2003-04 and 2004-05 seasons, with Ted Dumitru as the head coach.

The trophy will be handed over to Chiefs after their last game against Pretoria University at Mbombela Stadium on Saturday, 18 May 2013. Although they no longer need to win their last game, Chiefs are determined to end the season on a high note by beating Pretoria University. Itumeleng Khune said they have to win that game because they need a confidence boost ahead of their Nedbank Cup final against Supersport. Chiefs and Supersport will compete for the Nedbank Cup on May 25.



  1. Zack says:

    Chiefs. The real happy people…

Leave a comment