SATMA Awards 2023 Winners List

By Staff Writer    17-Dec-2023 11:11 UTC+02:00


The winners for the 18th South African Traditional Music Achievement (SATMA) Awards have finally been announced. This year, the awards, which featured 27 categories, took place at the DCC Jesus Dome in Durban on the 15th of December.

Inkabi Zezwe, a Bergville duo composed of Sjava and Big Zulu, won the Most Voted Song of the Year award with their popular song Umbayimbayi, beating seven other nominees in their category.

The Best Traditional Music SABC Radio Presenter of Year award was won by Mawaza Kabini of Kwekwezi FM. Under this category, Kabini was competing with presenters from eleven other SABC radio stations, including Bheka Mchunu & Bingelela Mpanza of Ukhozi FM and Gudl’abatshakazi (Gudla) of Umhlobo Wenene FM.

Popular maskandi singer/comedian King Nuba, who hails from Harding in KwaZulu-Natal, took home the Best Traditional Social Media Influencer award, for which he was competing with Londiwe Sishi, Philile Lethokuhle, Nelisiwe Faith Sibiya and Tinyiko ‘Miss Hilary’ Khoza.

Below is a full list of winners:

Best Afro Soul SongUkukhanya by Eves Manxeba
Best African Jazz Artist/GroupSandile Masilela
Best Reggae Artist/GroupPhumi Maduna
Best Praise SingerLizo Ndobe
Best Indigenous PoetMsa Lomshiyo
Best Upcoming Artist/GroupMamakie Motlogelwa
Best Mbhaqang Artist/GroupImpumelelo
Best Traditional Acapella Artist/GroupBergville Green Lovers
Best Traditional CollaborationMC Records KZN ft. Mduduzi Ncube & Musiholiq
Best Traditional Music Community Radio PresenterSilulami Dumza (Nkqubela Fm)
Best Department of Art & CultureFree State
Best Department of Cultural Affairs Chief DirectorSibongile Nkosi
Best Traditional OutfitMaggymargs Designs
Best Traditional Social Media InfluencerKing Nuba
Best SePedi Artist/GroupSeremi Crew
Best Xitsonga Artist/GroupMr Post
Best Ndebele Artist/Group Isumi Lamadoda
Best IsiXhosa Artist/Group Balungile Shezi
Best SeTswana Artist/GroupNomtiti 9
Best SiSwati Artist/GroupMsa Lomshiyo
Best TshiVenda Artist/GroupVhudie
Best Indian Artist/GroupYoji Cee
Best Sesotho Artist /GroupChoko
Best Boeremusiek Artist/GroupDonovan de Buys
Best Maskandi (T&D) Artist/GroupInkos’yamagcokama
Most Voted Song of the YearUmbayimbayi by Inkabi Zezwe
Best Traditional Music SABC Radio Presenter of YearMawaza Kabini (Kwekwezi FM)

Leave a comment